Central America is not for sissies!

My backpack sits on the counter ready to leave tomorrow for a 6 week trip throughout Guatemala and Honduras alone. My 22 year old twin boys are giving me hell. “Your gonna get killed”, “Your gonna get robbed”. Not just them but everyone I know think the boogie man is around every corner and only happy in their comfort zone. Adrenalin is a good thing, keeps us on our toes and makes life interesting.
I am a smart, middle age gal with a great love for travel and I WILL NOT let the boogie man scare me off! Everyone has the right to be able to enjoy a trip without looking over their shoulder all the time. Don’t get me wrong, I am always aware of what is happening around me. I don’t take unnecessary or stupid chances but I go to have fun and that is what I will do.
Not only is it a shame that Central America has such a high crime rate but it is also a shame that so many people miss such a great chance to see and experience other cultures. Travel cost are at a minimum, the weather is wonderful (all of this from what I have read) and there is so to learn.

Lighten up people and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

